Mariana wrinkle test

Ok, here’s another animation. This time it’s an animation test… of some sort…

face 

When I was reading Jason Osipa’s book "Stop Staring", he mentioned something about using bump maps to simulate the wrinkles on the character’s faces. I actually did that for one of my first facial animation tests (there’s a post on my old blog about that…). However, this time around I wanted to use normal maps because they yield a far better result.

What you get is a gradual wrinkle that appears according to the blendshape’s position. The video below shows the final result.

I will now work on the rest of the normal maps and then finish her facial rig. See you next time and I hope this was useful.

~ by nemirc on July 14, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
