OpenEXR, motion vectors, render passes, oh my!

Well, just a quick update. I’ve been messing around with different things, including images in OpenEXR format and the render passes. All this is for the short film, obviously, since the projects people make in this country don’t require that level of “complexity” (so to speak).

Anyway, I’ve been doing that research for different reasons. I’m pretty sure you already know what the OpenEXR file format is about, so no need of explanation there. As for motion vectors and stuff, I figured it was better to add them in post in order to cut render times.

We’ve rendered the first sequences. So far, so good. I finally got the school to provide us with some computers for the renders. They are core2duo iMacs, so they are not exactly the best computers in the world, but they will get the job done.

Anyway, that’s all for today. If you see the link on the side, you’ll see I have a Twitter now, although I never write something interesting. To me Twitter is just a way to spam, and that’s what I use it for.

PS: I was hoping to release the short film webatrical teaser trailer tomorrow (friday the 13th) but due to all the delays (more like the school not giving us the computers on time) the teaser will have to be pushed back a couple of days.

~ by nemirc on March 13, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
