Updates, works, stuff

Well, you surely saw the previous post, where I mentioned that the film is FINALLY opening in two or three weeks. It’s about time, I should say… after all, we spent a little over 2 months waiting for this.

There was a private screening where we had the chance to watch all of the short films produced during the film workshop. I can say that when it comes to the story, I liked the work a lot. However, I still think there’s still a lot to do when it comes to quality.

Some of the films just felt like they were shot using one of those Handycams that your uncle or anyone else uses to record “family events.” I mean, even if the equipment was there (they all used HD cameras and all that good stuff) there were some things that made them look not so well. I don’t know what it was really, maybe the colors or the “image quality” or anything else. It just felt weird.

The audio left some things to be desired as well. You may imagine I know nothing about sound mixing… which is true! I just know when something doesn’t quite work (that doesn’t mean I know how to fix it, though).

Unfortunately our short film has its faults as well. For starters, as I mentioned on previous posts, we pretty much had to rush to finish on time (or at least I think I did… or maybe those posts are on the production blog). The good thing is that we finished, and when it comes to business that counts more than having a perfect-but-unfinished piece of work.

Some of the renders came out not-so-great, with weird artifacts and stuff like that. The audio mix is also flawed, and there’s a lot of things that could be improved (BTW, we didn’t do the sound mixing).

Still, there’s the fact that we did finish on time.

And if you remember a previous blog post I was talking about a project that didn’t finish on time… and they haven’t finished yet… I’ll leave it at that.

Moving on…

Well, since I came back from SIGGRAPH 2008 I’ve been very interested on stereo filmmaking. I’ve been reading a lot about that lately, gathering pieces of information from different sources and I’ll be experimenting more with stereo soon. I’m storyboarding an animation we’ll work on in the following days. Actually I’m planning that animation to be part of something I can’t talk about right now, although it’s going to be great.

Since now Youtube supports 3D, I will be posting that experiment there.

Now if I could only get my hands on an old CRT and a pair of glasses…

Work has been kinda slow lately… damn economic downturn. That’s why I’ve found myself in the need to look for different biz opportunities. They are all related to 3D in one way or another, although I’m aiming different mediums now.

BTW expect a review next week, I think. I’ll be posting the link when it hits the front page.

There’s also a rant I’ll be posting, but that one will have to wait. I’m just going to say right now that I hate it when others ruin your hard work, specially when we talk about novices who think of themselves as experts.

More about that on a future post. Remember you can also follow me on Twitter.

~ by nemirc on July 31, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
