Love, death, immortality and the stupidity of men

Lol, actually that’s just a random title I thought of. Although that’s actually the “idea” behind one of the movies I will be making, some day.

I am realizing I need to be more active on this blog thing, as sometimes it takes me 2 or 3 months to update it. As I’ve said a zillion times, that doesn’t mean that I’m not doing anything useful, or that I am dead (although if you don’t see updates in a year or so, that’s a good hint that I’ may actually be dead, but that’s a different issue).

Anyway, I am thinking on doing a weekly post then, so those who still read this blog can get more updates more often 😛

I’ve been working on the storyboard for the next short film. It’s already difficult to come up with a storyboard, and making it for Stereo is even harder since I have to deal with the 3D composition and all. It’s a ‘good’ thing (I guess) that the director is also the self-proclaimed stereo supervisor as I get to define everything by myself and not deal with the “power struggle” between a supervisor and a director.

Obviously, I am using Storyboard Pro for it, so when I’m done I will be able to render out an animatic that will be used for pretty much everything else from layout to offline editing :p

In the meantime, others are working on concept design and modeling. The project is not moving as fast as I’d like but at least it’s not stalled (as some other animated projects I’ve heard of).

My Maya 2011 review is now available. You can read it here. My next one is Mudbox, and then I will be working on the CS5. CS5 rocks, BTW. I am using Premiere Pro on a Quadro FX 4800 and the Mercury Engine works like a breeze. More on that when I have something to report.

The company now has a blog and a Twitter account. You can read the DO Studio blog here, and you can follow us on Twitter here. We’re also on Facebook, so you’re more than welcome to join us there.

Anyway, that’s all for today, see you next friday and remember to follow me on Twitter 😀

~ by nemirc on June 5, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
