Rigging, game development, and stuff

Hullo again, ppl. This is going to be a quick update, imageless post as I can’t show you anything yet.

Well I am working on the character part of the game. It’s a working character now (inside the engine, I mean), but I want to check if I can get it to perform random animations on command (for example, I’ve animated 2 different jump styles and I want to see if there’s a way to randomly get one or the other when I hit the “jump” button). I will continue working on that next week. In the meantime, if anybody knows how to do that in Unity, drop me a line (or a comment down here).

You surely remember my muscle system I wrote about a few weeks ago? Well after attending SIGGRAPH and checking the Avatar class about character deformations, I got new ideas on how to get it to work (well if the Wetta guys could do it, why not me? LOL!). Basically the system is composed by muscles, a layer of fascia tissue that grabs all of the muscle deformations and then sends it to the actual skin (indirect binding all the way!). So I am, again, building the system using this method and see what I can get.

So that’s it. My quick post of the day 😀

~ by nemirc on August 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
