SteroidS release candidate and Gamasutra blog

Ahoy!

Well, as you know I began a Gamasutra blog 2 weeks ago. Well it seems they liked my second enough to make it a featured post, which is always a good thing (it’s all about the exposure, man). The second part of that series will be on my Gamasutra blog tomorrow, so if you want to know more about how we built an indie game development company in an unlikely place, read tomorrow’s post Smile

Today I finished the SteroidS release candidate, and tomorrow we begin testing it. Actually I did a really small testing today, and found my first two bugs, which sucks… but at least I found them (and they are easy to fix). I hope I don’t find that many bugs. I think it’s safe to say we’re aiming for a release in 7 days or so (you will die in 7 days!!!).

BTW in case you didn’t know, I’d posted a new SteroidS gameplay a few days ago.

This week we also nailed down the design of a new Parasite level, and I’d dare say it’s the most complex level we have so far, which is a good thing considering that level should be really REALLY hard to beat.

As you may or may not know, Parasite relies a lot on choice, and making the players feel lost while making sure they still end up somewhere (we don’t want them to move in circles for hours and hours), and that really shows on this last level.

I have to say it’s been difficult to keep an eye on two projects at the same time, but as they say: “you gotta do what you gotta do.” Some people would argue that doing that was totally insane, but we had developed a plan early this year (when we opened The Domaginarium), and while we’ve been adapting and all, some risky moves had to be made and developing two projects was something we needed to do.

See you next week!

~ by nemirc on October 31, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
