Making the Enola endings…

Before you ask, no, this post doesn’t contain spoilers of any kind. This blog post is not really a behind the scenes thing. It’s more of a rant, really.

The main thing with Enola is that the game is very story-driven. I don’t know how many will notice, but there are a variety of small story details that relate to each other. My plan is to deal with many of these things in the endings (there are 4 endings).

Just to clarify, the endings were written a long time ago, but after around a year I still find them problematic. If you’re familiar with the game, you know it has very dark story, so my main issue has been knowing if things in the ending would be problematic or would fire up alarms everywhere. After all, we’re talking about gaming, where gore and ultra-violence is cool (most of the time anyway), but other things are dissected beyond recognition.

At the end of the day I shouldn’t really care much about that, because I didn’t design a game to please this or that demographic (for example, I made a female protagonist because in my mind it made sense), but let’s face it, some people in gaming are offended really, REALLY easily for very stupid reasons…

So here I am, still trying to figure out the best way to make those endings. At the end of the day I think I’ll just make a “dog ending” à la Silent Hill…

In other news, the factory layout is finished, and it’ll be a night mare to play…

capture

~ by nemirc on January 27, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
